Chickens & Fences & Hawks, Oh My!

Yesterday the chickens met a hawk for the first time.  It swooped down across the chicken yard and sent them all running into the coop!  They stayed in there for about 30 minutes.  One of my poor barred rocks (not sure which) tried to run for cover into the trees.  She would have made it if the electric fence hadn’t blocked her path.  As it was, she ran into the live fence and tried very hard to scramble through it, her tail bobbing with each effort.  (This story is really so much funnier when my Mom tells it.)  She did make it safely into the coop though.

Also, a few days ago, I went outside to check on the birds and was standing outside the fence.  Well a barred rock (Sabrina, I think.) decided she would try to perch on the top wire of the fence.  At least I know the fence works.  🙂  So she jumped atop it, and her feet told her that was a bad idea.  Much flapping ensued and she jumped to the ground rather gracefully for an electrified chicken.

That was my week.  How about yours?

Such shocking stories!

This post was linked to the Homestead Barn Hop!

6 Comments

Filed under Animals, Nature

6 responses to “Chickens & Fences & Hawks, Oh My!

  1. Haha, I love chickens, they are so entertaining! Not the smartest critters in the world, but sweet just the same. I normally keep RIRs and they are so personable! They love attention, and even enjoy a nap in a lap when offered. Crazy for a chicken, eh?

  2. Mary Jane

    I hate to tell you, but the hawk will be back. They leave a trail of slaughter…mangled, torn-apart chickens… please consider a wire or netting top for your pen. i don’t want you to go through what I did. It is awful.

    • Thank you for the warning, Mary Jane. I’m not sure how I’d do that for the large area that is fenced in. I do have a little lean-to for them to hide under and want to get a picnic table for shelter as well.

      I am very sorry to hear that you’ve had such a terrible experience. Best wishes for you and your flock.

Have A Say:

