Storing Chives

I realized (after a hard frost and an inch of snow) that it was time to harvest our chives.  They’re in a pot on the back deck.

I simply washed them and let them air dry.  Then I chopped them into approximately 1/4″ pieces and froze them on a cookie sheet.  In hindsight, I should have put them in the plastic bag first, then frozen them, since they thaw instantly.

These took forever to dry!

Their pot has gotten crowded enough that in the spring I’m going to divide the chives.  One clump can stay in the pot; the rest get to move to the garden.

Lovely green chives.

This post was linked to the Homestead Barn Hop!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Storing Chives

  1. Chives are so good! What are you going to make with them?

  2. what timing! i just cut all my chives and was wondering what to do with them.

  3. What a beautiful harvest! They’re so pretty and add the perfect “zip” to almost any savory dish.

  4. Nice looking chives! I want to grow a bunch and try to dehydrate to use in recipes.

    • Thanks, Kelly! Chives are super easy to grow; I just leave them on the deck and occasionally hack them down to 1-2″ tall. Water them if they get dry of course.
      Let me know how the dehydrating works!

  5. Inviting you the Carnival of Home Preserving on my blog every Friday. Hope to see you there. Laura Williams’ Musings

    The most recent edition – http://laurawilliamsmusings.blogspot.com/2012/06/carnival-of-home-preserving-13-come.html – open until Thursday 6/7.

Have A Say:

